USA Authorized Synogut RetailerServing: follow the label · 60 capsules, 30-day bottle

60-day money-back guaranteeFree U.S. shipping on 3 & 6 bottles

SynogutOfficial product informationOrder Now
Guide

Choosing a Fiber Supplement: A Buyer's Checklist That Checks Grams

Three blue SYNOGUT bottles, 60 capsules each, 30-day supplement

Written by the Synogut editorial team

Last updated · Who reviewed this page · How we write and review

Quick answer

Judge a fiber supplement by its label: a Supplement Facts panel, grams of fiber per serving, psyllium named, a dose you can reach near the 10 grams used in trials, and a full glass of water with each dose. Psyllium has the strongest evidence. Synogut publishes no amounts, so its dose cannot be checked.

Why choose a fiber supplement by its label first?

The label is the only part of a fiber supplement you can check before you buy. Ads describe hopes, while the Supplement Facts panel shows what each serving holds.

FDA does not approve supplements before they are sold (FDA, 2022). The company must back its own claims, and FDA does not review structure/function wording first (FDA, 2024).

That leaves the checking to you. The method below works on any bottle, and the last part runs it on Synogut with nothing held back.

The Synogut buyer's checklist for any fiber supplement

Ten checks cover the dose, the label, safety and the seller. Tick each one as you read a label, and keep the products that pass the most.

A product that fails the first two cannot be compared with any study.

Before you buy a fiber supplement, check: 0 of 10 checked

Which fiber has the strongest evidence?

Psyllium has the strongest evidence for chronic constipation. The 2023 guideline found it the only fiber supplement that appeared effective (Chang et al., 2023).

The table sets the common fiber sources side by side, with the dose each study used.

Fiber sources and the doses studied
Fiber sourceDose in studiesWhat the evidence saysSource
PsylliumAbout 10 to 19 g a daySofter, more frequent stools than placebo; more gas(fibre meta-analysis, 2016)
Fiber supplements overallAbove 10 g a day, 4 weeks or moreHelped adults, mainly psyllium and pectin(van et al., 2022)
Prunes80 to 120 g of whole fruit a dayMore stool weight than water(Lever et al., 2019)
FlaxseedAbout 10 g a day in cookiesBetter scores in one small trial(Soltanian et al., 2018)
Oat beta-glucan3 g a dayA heart claim, not a digestion dose(21 CFR 101.81, n.d.)
ProbioticsStrain and dose specificBest choices still unclear(NCCIH, 2019)

How to check the fiber dose on any label

Five quick steps turn a label into a number you can compare. You need the Supplement Facts panel and a calculator.

If the panel gives no amounts, stop at step two. The dose cannot be judged.

  1. 1

    Find the serving size

    Read the Supplement Facts panel and note how many capsules or scoops make one serving.

  2. 2

    Find the fiber grams

    Note the grams of fiber, or the psyllium amount, in that serving.

  3. 3

    Work out the daily total

    Multiply by the servings the label allows per day.

  4. 4

    Compare with the trials

    Fiber trials for chronic constipation saw benefit above 10 grams a day.

  5. 5

    Count the capsules

    A large capsule holds under 1 gram of dense powder, so divide 10 grams by the grams per capsule.

The psyllium dose post walks through the trial numbers in more detail.

Capsules, powder or food: which form fits?

Powder and food reach study doses most easily. Capsules are tidy, but a size 00 capsule holds under 1 gram of dense powder (UNC Pharmlabs, n.d.).

Pick the form you can take every day at a dose that matches the research.

Powder

Not limited by capsule size, so one serving can reach gram-level doses. Stir it into a full glass of fluid.

Capsules

Easy to carry, but reaching 10 grams takes many capsules and plenty of water.

Food

Prunes, oats and flaxseed add fiber plus other nutrients, measured in grams or tens of grams.

Red flags on a fiber supplement label or ad

Some wording is a reason to slow down. Two items below, the FDA approved line and scarcity wording, appear on the Synogut info site itself.

The FTC expects health claims to rest on good human trials that match the product's dose and form (FTC, 2022).

  • Detox, cleanse or flush-toxins promises, which lack good evidence (NCCIH, 2025)
  • “FDA approved” on a supplement or its factory; FDA issues no registration certificates (FDA, 2024)
  • No Supplement Facts panel, or no amounts at all
  • Treat or cure wording for constipation, IBS or parasites
  • Scarcity lines such as “run out of stock soon”
  • Reviews with no way to check them; fake reviews are banned under a 2024 FTC rule (FTC, 2024)

Medicines, water and timing with fiber

Fiber can bind medicines, so timing matters. MedlinePlus says to keep psyllium about 3 hours apart from digoxin, aspirin and nitrofurantoin (MedlinePlus, 2024).

Clay and walnut tannins may cut drug absorption as well (RxList, n.d.) (RxList, n.d.). Tell your doctor and pharmacist about every supplement you take (NIH ODS, 2023).

Water every time. Drug labels for psyllium and glucomannan must warn that too little fluid can make them swell and block the throat (21 CFR 201.319, n.d.). Take each dose with at least 8 oz of water, and skip swelling fibers if you have trouble swallowing.

The checklist applied to Synogut, honestly

Seller graphic titled How Synogut works, with panels for what is inside, what it supports, daily use and no subscription
The seller's How Synogut works graphic. It describes daily use and no subscription, but it shows no serving size or amounts.

Synogut passes on seller contact, but it fails the dose checks. No Supplement Facts panel was supplied or published.

By capsule size, two capsules likely hold about 1 to 2 grams of all ingredients combined. That is our estimate, not a label figure. The label page lists what the bottle does show.

The fiber checklist run on Synogut
CheckSynogut result
Supplement Facts panelNot supplied or published
Fiber or ingredient amountsNot stated
Psyllium namedYes, on the bottle art; amount not stated
Near a 10 g study doseUnlikely; two capsules likely hold 1 to 2 g in total
ClaimsSupport wording only, such as “Enjoy a smooth gastric transit”
Maker namedNo maker or distributor name shown
Gluten-freeNo claim; oats are often cross-contaminated
Lab reportNone; SYN-26/GO-6181 is a draft label, not lab proof
Seller contactYes: order desk +1 (302) 200-3480

Starting a fiber supplement without bloating

Start low and build slowly. The NIH advises adding fiber a little at a time with plenty of liquids (NIDDK, 2018).

Trials judged fiber after 4 weeks or more, so give a steady dose time before deciding. The digestive health guide covers food fiber and warning signs.

  1. Days 1-7

    Start small

    Take the lowest serving on the label with a full glass of water.

  2. Days 8-21

    Build up

    Raise toward the label serving only if your gut feels settled.

  3. Days 22-28

    Hold steady

    Keep the same dose and fluid habit every day.

  4. Week 4+

    Review

    Ask your doctor about lasting change, and about any blood, pain or weight loss right away.

Choosing a fiber supplement: common questions

Questions people type into Google and Bing, answered from the label and the sources on this page.

What is the best fiber supplement for constipation?

No one product suits everyone. The 2023 gastroenterology guideline found psyllium the only fiber supplement that appeared effective (Chang et al., 2023), so a label that lists psyllium grams is a sensible start.

Is psyllium better than other fibers?

It has the strongest record. A 2022 review found fiber helped chronic constipation, mainly in psyllium and pectin trials (van et al., 2022), and the 2023 guideline singled out psyllium.

Are fiber capsules as good as powder?

The fiber is the same, but the amount is not. Even a large capsule holds under 1 gram of dense powder (UNC Pharmlabs, n.d.), so a study-sized dose takes many capsules.

How many fiber capsules equal one tablespoon of psyllium?

It depends on each label, since our sources give no standard tablespoon weight. Divide the grams per scoop by the grams per capsule; for a 10 gram dose, expect more than ten capsules.

Soluble vs insoluble fiber: which is better?

For supplements, the best trial data is for psyllium, a soluble fiber that forms a gel. Food gives you fiber of many types, so a varied diet still matters.

Can fiber supplements interact with medications?

Yes. MedlinePlus says to keep psyllium about 3 hours apart from digoxin, aspirin and nitrofurantoin and to separate it from other medicines (MedlinePlus, 2024).

Should I take fiber in the morning or at night?

Most fiber labels set no time of day. Pick a time you can repeat daily, well apart from your medicines, with a full glass of water.

What should I look for on a fiber supplement label?

A Supplement Facts panel, grams of fiber per serving, a water direction and a maker name. FDA requires the panel and the maker's name and place of business (FDA, 2026).

How do I start fiber without bloating?

Start low and add a little at a time over several weeks with plenty of liquids (NIDDK, 2018). Gas is the most common complaint in fiber trials.

Is a fiber blend better than psyllium alone?

No study shows that. The trials behind fiber advice tested single fibers at gram doses, so a blend with many parts and no amounts is harder to judge.